Fa la la la la la la la la…(is that the right number of ‘las’?)

A couple of people have asked me in the last few days why I created an entirely new Facebook profile. In all honesty, I didn’t really intend to. My intention was just to “clean up” the old one and storm-cloudmake it a happier place to be. As I was trying to do that, though, I discovered that there was a WHOLE LOT of negativity posted on that profile…oh, who am I kidding? It was a big fat black cloud! You see, I decided a couple of weeks ago to do something that a lot of people have been trying to get me to do for a long time: LOOK ON THE BRIGHT SIDE. Now that I’m finished with my master’s degree, and my time isn’t taken up with either reading or writing or both, things seem a little lighter. Not that I didn’t like being a student–I did, very much. And, I’m glad I did it. But, it took up an awful lot of time and even more energy. It was hard for me to look very far beyond what I was doing at that moment. Now that I can, I kinda didn’t like what I saw in myself. Fast forward to the present day and, voila, I’m just gonna fake it until I make it where optimism is concerned.

Now, let’s move on to 2017, shall we?!

Judging by what I’ve read on social media, 2016 was kind of crappy year for a lot of people. The general consensus is that we’re all just ready for it to go away so that we can move on. I could probably throw myself in with that sentiment–2016 is starting to feel a little “so last year”–but, I’m going to try something here that I’ve never tried before….
before-your-eyes

 

I will now attempt to find…

5 GOOD THINGS

About 2016

5

4

3

2

1

elipses

 

Number 5: All but one of my students, even my ESL students, passed their English I EOC on the first try.

Number 4: My credit score took a turn for the better.

Number 3: I only have one year left on my car note.

Number 2: I am starting to be able to get out and do more things with much less anxiety.

Number 1: Are you kidding? I got my daggum MASTER’S DEGREE!

You know what’s funny? That wasn’t all that difficult, and I could come up with at least five more.

I guess what people say is true: whether life is great or horrible depends largely on our perspective. I have spent an awful lot of time looking for the bad–and I almost always found it. But, what I’m starting to realize that while I was looking for the bad, I was OVERLOOKING THE GOOD. I was overlooking the things and people in my life who made it better. Of course I can’t promise that I’ll never have another moment, or even another day or week that I don’t feel down. But, what I can promise is that I’ll do my best…EVERY DAY…to find something good in it.

So, here’s my challenge to you:

As we bring 2016 to a close, and as we prepare for the new year, make a list of the GOOD THINGS that were present in your life THIS YEAR! Post them below in the comments, then share the post and challenge your friends and family to do the same. Start with five and just keep going. I can almost guarantee you’ll double your list in no time at all! I’ve already doubled mine!!

One thought on “Fast Away the Old Year Passes

  1. I’m so happy for you!! Life is much more enjoyable on the “glass is half full” side. Yes, I still get upset or disappointed by things, but I choose to be happy. Merry Christmas to you and your new attitude!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

