There’s something very anti-climactic and almost sad about the end of a course–especially a short summer course. I put all that time and effort into reading and thinking and writing and reading some more and thinking some more and writing some more. And, then, just like that…poof. It’s over. I put the books on my shelf (okay, I still don’t have a shelf…they’re in my book corner), move the folder with all of my work from my desktop to my Google Drive, and walk away.

Then it comes. The worst time. The academic interregnum–the time between semesters when nothing is going on. (Do you like that? I made it up.). Or, as I’m currently calling it…

The Lull…Dum dum duuuummmmm!!!

The Lull is the time in a student’s life when he has all sorts of great plans. He will catch up on his casual reading. He will pick up that short story he’s been working on for a year and write some more. He will write those book reviews for his friend who’s been asking him to review them for his blog. He will write that paper to submit to the Thoreau Society Journal. He will do laundry on a regular basis. He will clean out the store room.

You know…nothing specific…just stuff.

But, The Lull has other plans.

id addictYou see, The Lull is a nasty, insidious, sneaky creature. The Lull sneaks up on me just when I least expect it. There I am, minding my own business, watching the ID Channel or rabbit-holing YouTube, and suddenly The Lull has overtaken me. It is 5:00 in the afternoon and no laundry has been done. I haven’t read or written a word. The store room still looks like the aftermath of a natural disaster. Another day has come and gone and the only thing I have to show for my “work” is a healthy distrust of almost everyone in my neighborhood and a working knowledge of the history of the Kensington Runestone and the Knights Templar (think National Treasure with Nick Cage)…thank you ID and YouTube!

I could just give in to The Lull and poo poo any notion of actual productivity for the next six days until the fall semester starts. Who would knowyoutube addict other than me? But, that’s the problem. I would know and it would bother me. Okay, it IS bothering me already. It’s stupid to waste time. Yes, everyone needs a break from time to time, but breaks have to be balanced, and mine has not been.

What’s the lesson here? What’s the take-away? Being idle just for the sake of being idle is not good, I think. It’s not only a waste of time, but it’s a waste of energy. There’s something un-holy about it when you really give it thought. Each of us has been given some gift–some unique ability to do something to make the world a little better and to make people’s lives just a bit easier. Sitting around and not using that gift, or that talent, or that ability is contrary to our nature as created beings. Why do we feel so bad when we don’t do anything but sit around all day? Simple: because we weren’t made to sit around all day! Our minds and bodies were created in such a way as to facilitate FUNCTION.

I’m not saying that spending a day vegging out every now and then is a damnable sin or anything. Sometimes we need that. But, to do it day after day is…well, it’s just not good.

I don’t know…it’s just something I was thinking about. Maybe you can relate?

This is the aforementioned Kensington Runestone. I realize that 99.999% of the world is not nearly as nerdy as I am about history, so I thought I should provide some reference. In case you're interested in learning more about it, check out this stie: http://www.thekensingtonrunestone.com/
This is the aforementioned Kensington Runestone. I realize that 99.999% of the world is not nearly as nerdy as I am about history, so I thought I should provide some reference. In case you’re interested in learning more about it, check out this site: http://www.thekensingtonrunestone.com/

 

Leave a Reply

