Overthinking: The art of creating problems that weren't even there.
Overthinking: The art of creating problems that weren’t even there.

I can certainly relate to this! If overthinking is an art then I’m Pablo Picasso. Not only do I overthink, but every thought is messy and disjointed and mutated and. . .ugly! Where’s the off switch for my brain? People like me who suffer from anxiety and depression often find themselves overthinking–creating problems where none exist. I had a co-worker once who called it awfulizing–making everything awful even when it’s not. I like that term because it fits. Part of my battle everyday is ignoring the awful and finding the awe-inspiring. It’s not always easy and I often fail to find it, but I do always try.

Maybe someday scientists will invent that off switch! Until then. . .press on.

One thought on “Where’s the Off Switch For My Brain? (Pic of the Day – May 18)

Leave a Reply

