Mr. Rodgers crying quote
People have said, “Don’t cry” to other people for years and years, and all it has ever meant is, “I’m too uncomfortable when you show your feelings. Don’t cry.” I’d rather have them say, “Go ahead and cry. I’m here to be with you.” ~Fred Rodgers

I love Mr. Rodgers!

I remember watching Mr. Rodgers Neighborhood when I was a little kid. I was enchanted by everything about that show–the trolley, the Neighborhood of Make Believe, the arts & crafts, the little science experiments. . .I was even a fan of his shoes! (I have a pair now…shhh!!) What I didn’t realize until I was an adult is just how impactful Fred Rodgers wisdom was and still is.

I’ve read a number of Mr. Rodgers quotes over the years and they are all gold. This one is new to me. I only read it today on Twitter when @depressionarmy tweeted it out. Man, it really hit me in a good, good way.

Confession time…

I’m a cry-er. I’m 6’2″ and I weigh almost 300 pounds, but I am a cry-er from the word go. I cry when I’m happy, sad, glad, mad, scared, sick. . .I mean, I just cry. Most of the time it doesn’t bother me so much because it’s just part of who I am. Sometimes, though, I try to hide it–not because I think there’s anything wrong with a grown man (or anyone) crying, but because some people are very uncomfortable with it. I’ve never really understood why. It’s a perfectly natural reaction and not really something which can be controlled very well. Maybe people are uncomfortable because they don’t know what to do or say. I don’t know, but I wish it were different.

A big part of many of the problems we face right now is that people don’t want to let other people be who they naturally are. We want others to conform to our way of thinking; of doing; of feeling. But, we can never make it so. It’s a truly futile effort.

If you see me crying, don’t worry. I’m not looking for you to say some magic words to make me stop. In fact, you don’t have to say anything at all. . .

. . .just  BE with me. . .

(For more information about Depression Army(TM), follow them on Twitter — @depressionarmy or visit their web site, www.depressionarmy.com )

2 thoughts on “Why are we so afraid of tears? (Quote of the Day – May 13)

Leave a Reply

