Dale Carnegie doubt and fear quote
Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit and home and think about it. Go out and get busy. ~Dale Carnegie

Pardon my language, but sometimes anxiety can be a real bitch!

There’s nothing I want to do more than to get up, get out, get busy, and get things done. I cannot stand sitting still. I cannot bear the thought that something needs to be done that isn’t being done.

Despite my deepest desires, though, my mind is at war with itself right now. Inside my head is a running dialog telling me simultaneously that I am able to do anything I want to do, and that I cannot do anything. The result…

paralysis

But I can’t give in. I can’t sit still, because when I sit still I think about it and when I think about it all I want to do is sit still.

I guess most people can relate to this on some level. One doesn’t need to suffer from anxiety disorder to understand the nature of fear and doubt. Our challenge then, as human beings, is to not allow ourselves to be paralyzed with fear and doubt. Our challenge is, as I’ve said many times before, keep moving forward. Look fear in the face and move on. Let doubt have its say and move on. But, whatever we do, we must move on. We must do something!

Leave a Reply

