Nelson Mandela fear quote
I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear. ~Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela was a man who knew a thing or two about fear and bravery to be sure. Sometimes when I think about people like him, who suffered so much in his lifetime, I get mad at myself for my own fears. But, then I realize that fear is something which cannot be compared from one person to the next. While mine might not be as impactful as his, they are just as real to me.

I’m going through a rough time right now. My anxiety attacks have come back and they’re loaded for bare this time. They started about mid-February and have only gotten worse. I’ll go into more detail about that in a later post, but suffice it to say that fear has become an intimate companion to me lately, and triumph seems an awful long way off.

I read words like Mandela’s and think, “Why can’t I have that attitude? Why can’t I just find a way to overcome?” The truth is, if there was one way to overcome I’d have done it a long time ago. But, there is not and I doubt there ever will be.

We must each find our own path to peace. Some of us must travel longer roads than others. Some of those roads may be fraught with peril. But, we must keep going because there will always be something to be afraid of in this life. If we let that fear stop us every time it rears up, we will never make it anywhere. No matter how hard it is, we must always keep moving forward.

Leave a Reply

