Buddha doubt quote
There is nothing more dreadful than the habit of doubt. Doubt separates people. It is a poison that disintegrates friendships and breaks up pleasant relations. It is a thorn that irritates and hurts; it is a sword that kills. ~Buddha

I’m not sure when exactly it was that I started being a doubtful person, but I know I was pretty young. I’ve never really had much confidence in my abilities or my talents. I need constant reassurance that I’m doing a good job. I set ridiculous benchmarks for myself to make sure that I’m still on track. However, no matter how well I do on those benchmarks, no matter how much reassurance I receive, and no matter how often my talents and abilities lead to success, it’s never enough. There is still doubt.

Buddha was right in his assessment of doubt. It is poison! Friendships can only withstand doubt for so long. Romantic relationships succumb even faster. The individual self–he cannot survive a day. Doubt is paranoid and pathetic.

doubt destroys…

So, how does one overcome doubt? That is a very good question and one to which I have not found an answer. People of faith say to rest on that faith. I am a person of faith and have not found much rest there from my doubt. Maybe I don’t have enough faith. Maybe I don’t have the right kind of faith. But, I doubt that…I thought it might be time for a little levity.

I suppose the only thing to do with doubt is just to keep doing with doubt. To keep going. To keep striving. To keep pressing forward regardless how tightly its tentacles are wrapped. While doubt overcomes many things, doubt is overcome in doing.

…so just keep doing…

Leave a Reply

