Well, here we are. 2016. We made it through yet another year. It’s page 1 of a 365 page book….God, I hate goofy metaphors! Whatever.

I’m not a fan of New Year’s Resolutions. I never keep them, so I quit making them a few 2016years ago. I think most people should avoid making them. Most of the time they only serve as a disappointment when we fail to make them come to fruition. What I’m not opposed to is setting goals. Goals are much less formiddable–they don’t seem quite as inflexible as resolutions do. I know that sounds stupid, but just go with me, okay?

I always have goals. I just don’t always advertise them. Most of my goals for 2016 aren’t going to be advertised, either. I am going to reveal one though. I’m going to write more.

Since I started grad school I’ve done more writing than I’ve done in all of my previous years combined, I think. But, it’s all been pretty high level academic writing. The last two semesters have been particularly heavy. As a result, my blog suffered. I didn’t post regularly and when I did, my posts seemed very random and unfocused. That’s not necessarily a problem, but I do try to stick to some sort of theme. . .you know, like things I observe in life and have thoughts on. I think that posting more often will keep things from getting out of hand.

brick wallFor today, I want to share with you that my Quote of the Day from earlier means a great deal to me right now. I’ve encountered several brick walls since starting grad school way back in August of 2013. It seems like every semester has brought with it something (or, in one case, someone) who could have ended the whole endeavor before it ever started. It would have been easy for me to just turn and walk away, and no one would have balmed me. I had accomplished the most daunting goal I’d ever faced when I finally finished my undergrad degree. Grad school was never a certainty. But, it was something I wanted to do. It was something I NEEDED to do, so I stuck it out. I found ways over, under, around, and through those brick walls….because I want it bad enough.

I’m telling you this because I want to encourage you. I want you to look at those brick walls as ways to prove how bad you want the thing that you say you want. I want you to find ways over, under, around, and through those brick walls. Whatever it is you want this year, MAKE. IT. HAPPEN! Don’t try to ignore the brick walls, just accept them for what they are. You can. You must!

I still have two semesters of grad school left. I expect to encounter a few more brick walls along the way. But, I know this is something I want, so I know I will find a way. I can. I must!

happy new yearHappy New Year, friends! Make 2016 the best one yet! We can. We must!

Leave a Reply

