social (un)consciousness

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about social media. Okay, mostly I’ve been thinking about why I continue to participate in it. In all candor, I’ve grown weary of all of it. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram are now just boring re-hashes of the same status updates, recipes, vacation pictures, throwback-this, flashback-that, game request, event invites, celebrity pictures, hashtags (#OhMyGodMakeItStopAlready), tweet wars, somebody-done-me-wrong posts, and politics…don’t forget the politics!! Ughhh, it’s just too much! But, I keep logging in, and reading, and looking, and commenting, and shaking my head, and hating the fact that someone has more fun than I do, and enjoying the fact that someone out there is more miserable than me. I confess. It’s all true.

I’ve been thinking about quitting…..no, I mean for real this time, not like the 200 other times I’ve quit. I don’t enjoy it anymore. I don’t get anything out of it except for a few blog reads when I bother to post something. Most of the time when I login I just find myself being annoyed and/or disgusted. It used to be fun, but it’s not fun anymore. So, I’m thinking about quitting. That won’t be easy for me.

One of the biggest problems for people who suffer from severe anxiety disorder is losing real-life connections with real-life people. Although I’ve made some major progress in my battle with anxiety, there are still days when I don’t get out and go places because of it. The sad truth is that since this most recent and worst round with anxiety began in mid-2009, I have lost touch with many friends and have lost others altogether. Social media became my only social outlet. Facebook kept me in touch with the rest of the world when my mind and body wouldn’t let me leave the house. It was a lifeline, but it was also a crutch. Having that outlet for interacting with the outside made me feel less motivated to actually get up and get out. Now I don’t need that so much anymore, so I’m just thinkin’…..

I don’t do very well with moderation. With me it’s really sort of all-or-nothing. I’ve tried in the past to spend less time on social media. It never quite works out the way I plan. I am easily bored and have a little bit of (undiagnosed) ADD. I am easily distracted and I need constant stimulation. When I tried to moderate my time in the past I would turn right back to it anytime I got bored. No, moderation is not something I do well at all, but I have to do something.

Yeah, I think it might be time to quit. I’m about to start some new ventures which, unfortunately, I still can’t share with you just yet. There will be opportunities to make new friends and establish new relationships. I’m also in a better position to reconnect with old friends — that is, if they want to reconnect. I don’t know. I haven’t made any firm decisions yet. I’m still thinking. I’m curious about some of your thoughts. So, in the comments section below, let me know what you think about it. Especially if you’ve left social media. Let me know what your experience was like and, more importantly, how you did it. I look forward to hearing from you.

In the meantime, here’s a pretty funny video I ran across on YouTube about the 10 Types of People on Facebook. I confess, I have been a few of these people!! (Warning: there is some bad language, so if you’re offended by profanity, you probably shouldn’t watch.)

 

Leave a Reply

